Park Pedaler

The more cynical collectors will see this and ask themselves why did he buy that?! It’s bad enough that it’s the 2016 smoke design, they will say, but what’s worse is that it is one of those gimmicky cards.

Yes, I know all about your hatred for the 2016 design and to each his own. I’ve mentioned it before, but the design did grow on me over the baseball season. Had this been one of the ‘Topps Now’ designs, I would not have bought it. As it is, I picked it up because it seems like one of those oddballs that were an extension of the base set (regionals, for instance) that I’ve chased over the years. Plus, throw in the fact that Zobrist is a pretty class act and that all proceeds from the sale of this card will be going to charity, and I was more than happy to spend ten bucks.

It was funny, this package. I’ve complained before about how Topps’ fulfillment company used very little protection in the shipment of their Now cards. Well, this baby made me wonder if Ben’s bike was inside. It was shipped in a large bubble mailer. Inside of that was the above envelope, wrapped in more bubble wrap. And inside of this?

A plastic case holding the card- which was sandwiched in between two pieces of foam, making the entire package kind of like a Russian doll.

 

3 thoughts on “Park Pedaler

  1. I was one of those cynical folks at first, in regards to this card. However, it goes towards a good cause and is really exactly what baseball cards are supposed to be, just fun. Nice pick up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

