Quite the Steal

All of us have that one card (perhaps more) that we regret parting ways with. Sometimes our regret comes in the form of sentimentalism. Others have a hard time finding a replacement due to the card’s scarcity, while the rest of us are faced with not wanting to fork out the cold hard cash that is needed for replacing a card.

One such card for me is the 1980 Topps Rickey Henderson Rookie Card. I had this iconic card during my childhood but eventually gave it to my younger cousin (along with every other piece of cardboard I owned) once I hit those teenage years. Since then- or at least since re-entering the hobby in 1991- I have found myself wanting to buy another Rickey Rookie, but have always balked because of the higher prices.

The good news, of course, is that many of the key cards from the pre-junk/junk wax area have seen their prices drop in recent years, making them far more affordable for those of us on a tight card budget. And that was welcome news as I took on took on the task of putting together a set of 1980 Topps baseball.

After purchasing a starter lot, I’ve been slowing piecing together this personal favorite. At one point this summer, I thought I might have a chance to work a trade for a Henderson. It didn’t pan out and I put the idea on the back burner for a while. A recent email changed that, however, and a click of the mouse sent me to the store link of  DJ’s Sportcards in Renton, Washington.

I had visited DJ’s while in Seattle for a Van Halen concert a few years ago. My buddy was still working when my flight arrived, so I picked up my rental car, searched for some LCS on Google, and headed over to Renton. The shop itself had a nice selection of new and old, autos, as well as other stuff. While there, I signed up for their email list, which is sent out each Friday and usually features some of their most recent acquisitions. Don- the owner- has adopted quite a few kids from other countries and the newsletter will occasionally have updates on the latest news with (or addition to) their family. Anyway, the most recent newsletter featured an ’80 Topps Henderson in EX condition for $19 shipped. I decided to click the link while not getting my hopes up. To my surprise, the card was still available and I decided this was the time to buy. Not only was the price right, but I really wanted to give this man my business. I’m an advocate of adoption and if this man’s family is willing to open up their home and their lives to children who are in need of love and a chance at a better life… then I’m happy to spend my money there and help them in meeting the needs of these children.

I *might* have been able to pick one of these up for a little cheaper on eBay, but all things considered, I think I got quite a deal for this card of the Man of Steal.

Leave a Reply

