47-Card Knockout

No, it’s not some new card game- it’s a feature on one of my more recent purchases…

I’ve never spent the day after Thanksgiving shopping in retail stores. I don’t like crowds (translate: most people), I don’t like the cold weather and I don’t enjoy driving around in circles looking for a place to park, only to have to park and walk in said cold weather. I do, however, like saving money and have thus spent a few ‘Black Fridays’ shopping online for cardboard deals. In previous years it’s been shopping sprees on COMC; this year, it was a shopping spree on Sportlots.

To really make shopping on Sportlots worthwhile, one must shop for shipping charges and not just card prices. This can be time consuming, but the site does have filters that makes the job much easier. I happened to find one seller who had a large number of cards I needed to go towards my 2015 and 2016 Topps sets. I did some comparisons to what a similar purchase on COMC would run with free shipping and I still came out ahead.

The largest of my purchases included a 47-card behemoth, which helped me knock out a considerable amount of my 2015 and 2016 want lists. With the 2017 release date approaching quickly, I’m beginning to feel a sense of urgency on completing both sets.

scan-38

When details were first released for the 2015 set, I was pretty pessimistic about an insert set that incorporated historical events- after all, isn’t that one of the great parts about Heritage? But my mind changed after getting my first couple of cards from the set

scan-40

And of course, there were the Perspectives, 100 Years of Wrigley Field, First Pitch and Walk-Off Wins.

scan-42

500 HR Futures Club- another fun retail set. I like the standard, red bordered cards; the silver and gold-parallels do nothing for me.

scan-44

I even picked up a number of the 2014 Super Veteran cards from an insert set that paid homage to one of the subsets of yesteryear.

Fire… a little different, but not bad. If I had to do it all over again, I’d probably skip this set.

scan-46

What better way to close out this post than featuring the best closer of all-time, Mo Rivera and a dude whose last name ends in ‘Z’.

scan-48

 

Leave a Reply

